CarbonTT – Light.Efficient.


Carbon Truck & Trailer GmbH (“CarbonTT”) is a young technology company with focus on composite materials. CarbonTT’s core areas are the development of components using CAD & simulation, development of assembly & joining processes, development of industrial manufacturing processes for fiber composite components, and series production & assembly of fiber composite components. CarbonTT is a global leader in the development and cost-efficient mass production of complex components.
Since 2015, CarbonTT has been developing and manufacturing structural components made of carbon fiber reinforced plastic (“CFRP”) specifically for light commercial vehicles up to 3.5-ton gross vehicle weight. These vehicles have a particularly poor CO2 balance – but due to the rapid increase in online trade, their sales are rising sharply. CFRP lightweight construction is an effective way of increasing the economy of 3.5-ton trucks while at the same time reducing fuel consumption and CO2 emissions. In electric vans, CFRP lightweighting increases the range and increases the payload by compensating for the battery weight.

“We make vehicles lighter. So you can carry more payload. And consume less fuel.”

Hauke, Team Lead CAD/CAE

Specifically, three different ultra-lightweight models were developed: based on the Volkswagen T6, the StreetScooter Work L and the Mercedes-Benz Sprinter. In each case, coupons and components were tested, component tests (Hydropuls) and corrosion tests were carried out (climate change test), dynamic driver tests and fatigue tests (bad road test) were run, among other things. CarbonTT implemented the entire process – from initial sketch to portotypes to series components – on its own responsibility.

Rethinking applications is incredibly exciting. In addition to the weight savings, we were able to incorporate other advantages into our products, such as accessible installation space without cross-members or better crash behavior.”

Benedikt, Team Lead Structural and Production Development

CarbonTT – Durable.Sustainable.


Various innovations and patents support our company. The latest innovation brought a decisive advantage in production: a unique process allows multiaxial scrims to be fed to the pultrusion plant without wrinkles at high speeds. There, in turn, a proprietary injection box ensures fast, process-safe impregnation of the fibers. The resin is also a proprietary composition of basic materials and additives, in particular to improve processability and aging behavior.

Process developments are complex, but that’s what makes them so appealing. With great colleagues, we systematically go through the manufacturing parameters and make adjustments. Again and again. But when shiny components are in hand, everything is good.”

Markus, Team Lead Pultrusion

Fiber-reinforced composites (FRP) can be more than just lightweight. While CarbonTT has primarily focused on (continuous, multiaxial) carbon fibers, which have the highest lightweighting potential of all materials, applications are increasingly being developed with recycled carbon fibers, glass fibers or natural fibers (e.g. flax). These fibers have a lower carbon footprint or can even serve as a CO2 sink. In addition, composite components can be a useful reuse of discarded FRP components – for example, wind turbine rotor blades can be given a second life. The new components then use sustainable materials and still offer superior weather resistance and durability.

“We are an experienced team from the areas of vehicle construction, aircraft construction and production. Our common motivation is to advance meaningful, sustainable applications.”

Gerret, Band Leader

CarbonTT’s headquarters are in Buxtehude, with a direct link to CFK Valley in Stade, where many innovative companies and institutes with lightweight construction expertise have settled in the Airbus environment. Since 2019, Rheinmetall AG has held a stake of just under 25% in CarbonTT and, as a leading global supplier to the automotive industry, provides support, particularly in the areas of industrialization and sales.

CarbonTT – Leicht.Effizient.


Die Carbon Truck & Trailer GmbH (“CarbonTT”) ist ein junges Technologie-Unternehmen mit Fokus auf Verbundwerkstoffe. Die Kernbereiche von CarbonTT sind die Entwicklung von Bauteilen mittels CAD & Simulation, Entwicklung von Montage- & Fügeprozessen, Entwicklung von industriellen Fertigungsprozessen für Faserverbundbauteile, sowie die Serienfertigung & -Montage von Faserverbundbauteilen. CarbonTT ist weltweit führend in der Entwicklung und kosteneffizienten Herstellung komplexer Bauteile in Serie.

Seit 2015 entwickelt und fertigt CarbonTT Strukturbauteile aus carbonfaserverstärktem Kunststoff („CFK“) speziell für leichte Nutzfahrzeuge bis 3,5t zGG. Diese Fahrzeuge haben eine besonders schlechte CO2 Bilanz – aufgrund des rapide steigenden Onlinehandels steigt ihr Absatz jedoch stark an. CFK Leichtbau ist eine effektive Möglichkeit, um die Wirtschaftlichkeit der 3,5-Tonner zu erhöhen und gleichzeitig den Verbrauch und CO2 Ausst0ß zu senken. Bei elektrischen Transportern steigert CFK Leichtbau die Reichweite und erhöht die Nutzlast durch Kompensation des Batteriegewichts.

„Wir machen Fahrzeuge leichter. Damit Sie mehr Nutzlast transportieren können. Und weniger Kraftstoff verbrauchen.“

Hauke, Team Lead CAD/CAE

Konkret wurden drei verschiedene, ultraleichte Modelle entwickelt: auf Basis des Volkswagen T6, des StreetScooter Work L und der Mercedes-Benz Sprinter. Dazu wurden jeweils u.a. Coupons und Bauteile geprüft, Komponententests (Hydropuls) und Korrosionstests durchgeführt (Klimawechseltest), dynamische Fahrerprobungen und Dauerfestigkeitsprüfungen (Schlechtwegetest) gefahren. CarbonTT hat den gesamten Prozess – von erster Skizze, über Portotypen zu Serienbauteilen – eigenverantwortlich umgesetzt.

Anwendungen neu zu denken ist unheimlich spannend. Neben der Gewichtsersparnis konnten wir weitere Vorteile wie zugänglichen Bauraum ohne Querträger oder besseres Crash-Verhalten in unsere Produkte einbringen.“

Benedikt, Team Lead Struktur- und Produktionsentwicklung

CarbonTT – Langlebig.Nachhaltig.


Unterschiedliche Innovationen und Patente stützen unsere Unternehmung. Die letzte Innovation brachte einen entscheidenden Vorteil in der Fertigung: durch ein einzigartiges Verfahren können multiaxiale Gelege faltenfrei bei hohen Geschwindigkeiten der Pultrusionsanlage zugeführt werden. Dort wiederum sorgt eine eigenentwickelte Injektionsbox für eine schnelle, prozesssichere Tränkung der Fasern. Das Harz ist ebenfalls eine eigene Zusammenstellung von Grundstoffen und Additiven, um insbesondere die Verarbeitbarkeit und das Alterungsverhalten zu verbessern. 

Prozessentwicklungen sind komplex, aber genau das macht den Reiz aus. Mit tollen Kollegen gehen wir systematisch die Fertigungsparameter durch und passen an. Immer wieder. Doch wenn man glänzende Bauteile in der Hand hält, ist alles gut.

Markus, Team Lead Pultrusion

Faserverbundkunststoffe (FVK) können mehr als nur leicht sein. Während sich CarbonTT primär mit (endlosen, multiaxialen) Carbonfasern beschäftigt hat, die das höchste Leichtbaupotential aller Werkstoffe haben, werden zunehmend Anwendungen mit recyclierten Carbonfasern, Glasfasern oder Naturfasern (z.B. Flax) entwickelt. Diese Fasern haben einen geringeren CO2 Fußabdruck oder können sogar als CO2-Senke dienen. Zudem können Verbundbauteile eine sinnvolle Weiterverwendung ausgedienter FVK Bauteile sein – so können z.B. Rotorblätter von Windkraftanlagen ein zweites Leben erhalten. Die neuen Bauteile nutzen dann nachhaltige Materialien und bieten dennoch überragende Witterungsbeständigkeit und Langlebigkeit.

„Wir sind ein erfahrenes Team aus den Bereichen Fahrzeugbau, Flugzeugbau und Produktion. Unsere gemeinsame Motivation ist es, sinnvolle, nachhaltige Anwendungen voranzubringen.“

Gerret, Band Leader

CarbonTT’s Sitz ist in Buxtehude, mit direktem Bezug zum CFK Valley in Stade, wo sich im Umfeld von Airbus viele innovative Unternehmen und Institute mit Leichtbau-Knowhow angesiedelt haben. Seit 2019 ist die Rheinmetall AG mit knapp 25% an CarbonTT beteiligt und unterstützt als ein führender globaler Zulieferer der Automobilindustrie insb. in den Bereichen Industrialisierung und Vertrieb.